Professor Becky Wai-Ling Packard named AAAS fellow

Becky Wai-Ling Packard, Mary E. Woolley professor of psychology and education, has been recognized as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Becky Wai-Ling Packard, Mary E. Woolley professor of psychology and education, has been recognized as a , the world鈥檚 largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals.

Packard鈥檚 research has examined the complex pathways of first-generation, low-income community college transfer students, many of whom are women, people of color and parents, as they aim to persist in STEM fields. Additionally, Packard studies the changes needed at both classroom and institutional levels to sustain an inclusive culture of mentoring where students and mentors can thrive.

鈥淏eing elected as a fellow of AAAS is a true honor for me,鈥 said Packard. 鈥淪ince the beginning of my career, I have followed the work of AAAS, which inspired me to become more involved in policy and public-facing science communication. This is an amazing organization that aims to improve the broader science ecosystem, and I am eager to contribute as I move forward.鈥

Packard is among the 502 scientists, engineers and innovators elected as 2023 fellows for their distinguished scientific and social achievements throughout their careers. She is among the more than 30 Mount Holyoke faculty members who have received the honor since the inception of the institution.

鈥淏ecky鈥檚 election to be a AAAS fellow reflects her unswerving dedication to her scholarship,鈥 said Lisa Sullivan, provost and dean of faculty at 果冻传媒 College. 鈥淗er passion and distinguished contributions embody the spirit of Mount Holyoke faculty, and we could not be more honored to be her home institution.鈥

A tradition dating back to 1874, election as an AAAS fellow is a lifetime honor, and all fellows are expected to maintain the highest standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity. Distinguished past honorees include W.E.B. Du Bois, Ellen Ochoa, Steven Chu, Grace Hopper, Alan Alda, Mae Jemison and Ayanna Howard. The AAAS fellows program is celebrating its one hundred and fiftieth anniversary this year.

Contact us

The Office of Marketing and Communications spreads the word about 果冻传媒 College鈥檚 distinctive strengths and newsworthy accomplishments.

Christian Feuerstein
  • Director of Public Affairs and Media Relations